I think a little satire always makes some of the greatest points.

This illustration comes from comedian Emo Philips talking about two men on a bridge, one of which is contemplating suicide…

I said, “Are you a Christian or a Jew or a Hindu or what?”
He said, “A Christian.”
I said, “Small world! Me too. Protestant or Catholic or Greek Orthodox?”
He said, “Protestant.”
I said, “Me too! What franchise?”
He said, “Baptist.”
I said, “Me too!” Norther Baptist or Southern Baptist?”
He said, “Northern Baptist.”
I said, “Me too! Norther Conservative Baptist or Norther Liberal Baptist?”
He said, “Northern Conservative Baptist.”
I said, “Me too! Northern Conservative Fundamentalists Baptist, Great Lakes Region, or Norther Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist, Eastern Region?”
He said, “Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist, Great Lakes Region.”
I said, “Me too! Norther Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist, Great Lakes Region Council of 1879, or Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist, Great Lakes Region Council of 1912?”
He said, “Norther Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist, Great Lakes Region Council of 1912.”
I SCREAMED, “Die, heretic!” and pushed him over.

So I wonder… who will I allow to stand on the bridge with me? Only people who are exactly like me? And for those who are not like me, will I push them off?

But sometimes standing on a bridge all alone gets pretty lonely…

